Posted by: Alan Pitts | May 29, 2012

Folds at Fountain Hill Beach

Here are a few sights from our second field mapping area at Field Camp, Fountain Hill Beach (formerly known to the JMU field camp faculty as Omey Beach).

Here is an overview of the beach.

The above picture I made with the panorama function on my pocket size digital camera. I took several other Gigapans (which sadly Wordpress wont allow me to embed here) of the beach which turned out really good. I highly recommend you go take a look at them here . And be sure to click on the picture to zoom around and explore.

And here is a look at the lovely folds in the pelitic schist and psammite. These rocks are part of the Dalradian super group of metasediments which were deposited on the laurentian margin and subsequently deformed during the Taconian orogeny. I also included a few annotations because, well, annotated geology makes me happy and is a relaxing activity for me.

The last one is a of a picture of some Andalusite crystals I found, which indicate a low pressure low-high temperature.

Thats all for now. More soon.

Leave a Reply

Categories

